More Summer picks

Hello! I’m back to blogging and finding new and interesting local food info for you.  On my trip out east, I dove into a wonderful book called The Good Food Revolution.  The author, Will Allen, is a farmer in Wisconsin where he has turned a few acres on the edge of Milwaukee into an urban farm that is transforming his community.  From the blurb on the cover: “The Good Food Revolution is the story of Allen’s personal journey, the lives he has touched, and a grassroots movement that is changing the way our nation eats.”

And right here in Portland we have an urban business that’s introducing an exciting new sustainable agriculture system to our community: the Aquaponic Integrated Food Energy and Water System. Check out Portland Purple Water’s eight minute video and information on their truly sustainable food system they’re developing in their new location near the St. John’s Bridge.

The other night, at the Beaverton City Council meeting, A & P Appliance  received a best business award.  They’ve been repairing and selling appliances for years in Beaverton, and in true community spirit, they’ve recently added A & P Kitchen, Local Specialty Foods & Kitchen Products.  It makes me happy to see local businesses pairing with local food producers.  Let’s support our home grown businesses!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More Summer picks

  1. radjams says:

    Welcome back! (It’s me, Debbi, using my alter ego!) We’re heading your way soon on a road trip – any good eats recommendations?

  2. lorrainemt says:

    Hi Debbi, wow, there are lots of good foodie places to recommend! Here are a few of my favorites: Nostrana, Andina, Pok Pok, St. Honore Bakery and Cafe, and if you’re browsing at Powells and need a quick bite (so you can get back to browsing!), Whole Foods is just a couple blocks down. Well, those are just off the top of my head–let me know if you want other info. Have a great trip!

  3. John says:

    Great post Lorraine. Welcome back! 🙂 The video and story at Portland Purple Water’s site is fascinating. I recommend folks download and reading the presentation … “Franz Schreier’s Food and Energy Presentation featuring his Aquaponic Solar Greenhouse. Delivered at Portland Purple Water WHQ 2/13/12” at this link.. >>http://www.pdxpurple.com/resources/guides-and-publications-2/food-and-energy<&lt; It makes you think about what is possible.

  4. justinelevine says:

    I had a crazy idea the other day to sponsor a blogger “Local Food” swap at A Half Baked Life. People would sign up and I’d pair them with another random person somewhere else, who would receive a box of the best “local” products their match could find, value TBD. On one hand, the best things right now are perishable (and why send local chard to, say, California?), but it would be sort of fun to get people to find (if they haven’t already) and tell the stories of local producers/farmers on their blogs, and then swap goods with bloggers all over the country. Local and global at the same time. I’d love to hear your feedback. 🙂

  5. lorrainemt says:

    Oh yeah, I like crazy ideas! And you know talking about local food is right up my alley. 😉 But I’m trying to get my head around the idea of sending fresh produce to someone across the country. I’m thinking that if I put blueberries and raspberries in a box and send it off to NJ, the person on the other end would get a box of hot jam! And it would mean using fossil fuels…perhaps not the best way to celebrate local. But how about exchanging pictures of the best foods in the markets? I’d love to see that–especially things like peaches or tomatoes that don’t grow as sweet and big here in Oregon as they do on the east coast.
    Well, I don’t know if that’s of any interest, but I’d love to hear more about your idea. So glad you stopped in for a chat.

Leave a Reply

