Make the winter market a habit

Every time I go to one of the winter markets here in the Portland area, I’m amazed at the variety of fresh food available to us.  We are so lucky!  I wish everyone was aware of how well our local farmers can feed us all year long.  And the way we can support them?  Go to the markets and buy their sustainably grown food instead of buying produce shipped in from who knows where and questionable (to put it mildly) meat from factory farms.  It’s a win win situation on so many levels.

On Sunday, we bought our greens from the Deep Roots Farm stand at the Hillsdale Farmers’ Market.  I bought so much, I thought I’d try making kale chips by chopping them up and mixing them with olive oil, salt, and pepper.  But before I dropped them onto a baking sheet, I tasted them to see if there was enough salt.  Let me tell you, I almost ate the whole batch raw it was so good!  And in fact, I liked them raw better than baked.  That’s how good these fresh-from-the-farm greens are.   And there’s so much more than greens available.  Check out this wonderful article in today’s Oregonian about the bounty of the area’s winter markets written by my fellow blogger, Kathleen Bauer, from Good Stuff NW.    Definitely good stuff.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make the winter market a habit

  1. Terry Jordan says:

    Lorraine,

    Thanks so much for reminding me about kale chips. Just reading your post got me in the mood to make some right now.

  2. lorrainemt says:

    Terry, were you the one who was telling me about kale chips? I know it was someone in that lovely VH vortex!

Leave a Reply

