As local as you can get!

There is a wonderful movement afoot that brings growing local right to our very doorstep: urban farming, kitchen farming, backyard farming–by whatever name it’s called–it’s all about growing food in our own yards.   City yards, suburban yards, sidewalk strips, wherever there’s a sunny spot to till.  And of course, many of us do just that, but often, as in my case, it’s more about growing a few tomatoes and herbs for salad.  But here are two TEDx youtube videos about making the most of the space you have to really produce a bounty of food that can make a serious dent in your grocery bill:

The Urban Farming Revolution

A Subversive Plot: How to Grow a Revolution in Your Own Backyard

And here’s a blurb from an interesting film, Locavore, on the same subject: “We’re eating oil, right now, and we’re eating out of trucks, and that’s not going to last for much longer.  Beauty and bounty awaits in our own backyard.”

It makes me think about my yard a little differently, especially now that we’ve finally gotten rid of our towering photinia bushes that hid our garden plot in dark shadows.  Hmm, how much can we really grow in our yard?  How about you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As local as you can get!

  1. janetcreasy says:

    Very nice links, thanks for sharing. I am already a home gardener and ready to sprout fall food! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. lorrainemt says:

    Janet, what’s sprouting in your garden now? I’d love to know!

  3. Great post, Lorraine. I’ve never grown lettuce before, but I added it to the herbs, zucchini, strawberries, and tomatoes in our garden this year, and I’m so glad I did. Our lettuce patch is still providing us with salads at the end of October, and I expect we’ll get at least another couple of weeks before the frost really does it in. Is your part of Oregon similar?

    • lorrainemt says:

      I love hearing what’s in your garden, Amy. Yes, I think western Oregon and England would have a similar growing season. Next year, I’m going to plant some lettuce for sure. Did you find it hard to grow? And strawberries. I can just imagine Sweetpea harvesting those!

Leave a Reply

