Fabulous resources: type in your zip code for local info

My friend Debra, from Nuts About Berries Farm, sent me a link with a gold mine of resources for the entire country: Real Time Farms.  Just type in your zip code and you’ll find tons of information about local farms, restaurants, and markets in your area.   I thought I’d just take a peek, but there was so much to discover that it turned into way more than a peek.  For instance, they have a search for ingredients.  So, if you want to know where to find fennel for your beet fennel salad, say, you type in fennel and a whole page of farmers’ markets that carry fennel in your area pops up.  With pictures too!

Another site to find your local farms and markets is Local Harvest.  Besides being able to punch in your zip code and find markets and farmers close to you, they feature farm blogs and forums for exchanging ideas on local foods as well as events, a newsletter, photos, and more.

Just the other day, a friend of mine was lamenting that it was hard to find sustainably raised local meats.  Then I found this amazing site: Eat Wild.  They have a directory of farmers where you can find pasture raised, grass-fed animals in your area, again, by zip code.  I haven’t had time to poke around their site, but I’m definitely going back to fill up on good information about sustainably raised meat.

Here’s an event being celebrated all over the country on October 24th : Food Day.  I had trouble getting into the site this morning, though I did get in yesterday, but in the mean time, here’s a link to an article describing the event: Food Day article.  In Portland, celebrate Food Day with Oran Hesterman.

So many great resources!  Let me know what you’ve discovered–I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fabulous resources: type in your zip code for local info

  1. Hey! Glad you linked from your LJ blog! I’m passing this blog link on to my sister who lives in OR! (And I’ll follow, too, of course!) d-michiko-f

  2. lorrainemt says:

    I’m so glad you stopped by! Does your sister live in the Portland area? It would be wonderful to meet her through the blog.

  3. Sheila Deeth says:

    No eateries near us, yet, it says. That real-time farms site is amazing!

  4. Carolyn says:

    I should only really visit your blog after lunch, Lorraine. All this talk about food makes me feel very hungry. :o)

    Many miles from Oregon, I’m afraid, but tomorrow I am off to the Apple Fair at Cockington Court near where I live. I’d just better stay away from the local cider!

    You’re inspiring me to take more notice of my local foodie events.

  5. Sarah Case says:

    I love your new blog, dear friend. What a great resource for all of us!
    Check out the heartwarming video clip of some of our precious 2nd graders at Raleigh Hills, working in our community garden (highlighted on the BSD home page): http://www.beaverton.k12.or.us

    • lorrainemt says:

      Hi Sarah, I’m so glad to see you here! And I’m looking forward to seeing that video clip. If kids are introduced to growing their own food early, it’ll be an experience they can access all their lives.

    • lorrainemt says:

      Forgot to tell you how much I enjoyed that sweet video! It’s inspiring me to write something about kids and gardening.

  6. mimi says:

    hi sis, hey thanks for the zip code info. now I can find out where the goodies are in Ohio!
    and I love to read your writing

    • lorrainemt says:

      Yay, you’re here! I always remember that harvest festival we went to on the Cape so many years ago. Hope you find some good squash out your way! I know John’s been waiting for some. 😉

Leave a Reply

